Down a Kidney, Running a 10K

Hickey PhotoFor Terence Hickey, 27, the hardest part of donating a kidney was staying off his feet.

“The process itself wasn’t as grueling as I thought it would be, but being so active, it is tough staying in bed,” he said.

On May 30th, Terence will run the UAE Healthy Kidney 10K with his mother, Nora. It’s an amazing feat considering he donated a kidney to his father John less than two months ago.

“So far I’ve had a quicker turnaround than the doctors thought I would,” he said. “I am good at bouncing back.”

Always eager to step up to a challenge, Terence also didn’t hesitate to volunteer as an organ donor to keep his ailing father off of dialysis.

“I was ecstatic to be a match,” he said. “And I am glad that I could do it rather than have one of my brothers or my mother go through the operation.”

While the surgery only happened a few weeks ago, Terence already sees a difference in his father.

“He looks better and the swelling from kidney failure is gone,” Terence said. “I expect we’ll be golfing again soon, but I told him he’s not allowed to beat me at golf anymore.”

Terence is running for his father and will be proof that organ donors can continue life as normal after surgery.

“Organ donation is a great thing,” he said. “I wanted to make my father’s life better and I don’t regret it in the slightest. Now I’m excited to be back out there and running.”

This entry was posted in Dialysis, Donation, Fitness, Kidney Health, Transplant and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

